Seattle · Licensed center

Neighborhood House Burien

Save programs to compare them in ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini.

What the state has found

Someone reported a concern to the state, and in April 2024 the state found it valid and cited 1 rule. The state also cited rules at 1 of its 2 licensing inspections since April 2025.

Of the 81 Seattle-area centers with 2 licensing inspections, 37% had rules cited at 1 of them, as this center did. 33% had rules cited at both, 30% at neither.

Complaints the state found valid

Someone reported a concern. The state investigated and found reasonable cause to believe a licensing rule was broken.

Received Feb 9, 2024Valid complaint, 1 rule citedresolved Apr 11, 2024
  • “During onsite inspection of complaint, Licensor was informed by Family and Health Services Manager SW, Family Advocate and Coach ES, and Lead Teacher BE that two children had physical contact under a blanket on a cot where a child(ren)’s pants were slightly down, and privates exposed. The incident occurred on Tuesday, February 6, 2024, during nap time, and was not reported to the Department until Friday, February 9, 2024, not meeting the requirement to report to the Department within 48 hours of the incident occurring. (2)(vi)”

    WAC 110-300-0475(2)

Of the 206 Seattle-area centers licensed for 41 to 70 children, 157 (76%) have no valid complaint in the last three years; 49 (24%) have one or more, as this center does.

Licensing inspections

May 27, 2026No rules cited
Apr 11, 20251 citation
  • “Woodchips around preschool climber measured 7 1/2 inches by spiral fire pole, 7 1/4 inches bottom of slide, 8 1/2 inches by fire pole and 8 1/2 by spinning pole.”

    WAC 110-300-0146(1)(a)(b)

Read every record and the state’s reports

State record — Washington DCYF

Last visit
May 27, 2026
On file
2 visits since April 2025 — 1 cited nothing · 1 complaint investigation
Most serious
Serious — Woodchips around preschool climber measured 7 1/2 inches by spiral fire pole, 7 1/4 inches bottom of slide, 8 1/2 inches by fire pole and 8 1/2 by spinning pole. · April 11, 2025

Washington DCYF publishes the licensor’s own observation and a risk level for every citation it issues at a licensing visit, with the inspection report attached as a PDF.

May 2026 Licensing visit nothing cited Report (PDF)
Apr 2025 Licensing visit 1 finding

Licensing visit · April 11, 2025

Equipment and surfaces in outdoor early learning space

WAC 110-300-0146(1)(a)(b) · Serious

Woodchips around preschool climber measured 7 1/2 inches by spiral fire pole, 7 1/4 inches bottom of slide, 8 1/2 inches by fire pole and 8 1/2 by spinning pole.

Report (PDF)

Feb 2024 Complaint 2 valid issues

Complaint · Received February 9, 2024 · Resolved April 11, 2024

Duty to protect children and report incidents

WAC 110-300-0475(2) · Serious

During onsite inspection of complaint, Licensor was informed by Family and Health Services Manager SW, Family Advocate and Coach ES, and Lead Teacher BE that two children had physical contact under a blanket on a cot where a child(ren)’s pants were slightly down, and privates exposed. The incident occurred on Tuesday, February 6, 2024, during nap time, and was not reported to the Department until Friday, February 9, 2024, not meeting the requirement to report to the Department within 48 hours of the incident occurring. (2)(vi)

Report (PDF)

Shortlist replaces people’s names in the state’s text with initials. This is done by rule, not by hand, so it can miss a name or shorten a word that isn’t one. The state’s report, linked on each row, has the original.

Openings, Working Connections subsidy, cost, hours and late pickup, teaching approach, ratios and staff, a typical day, and sick and biting policies aren’t on this page.

Details

(206) 581-5027

Address
6400 Sylvan Wy SW
License
PL-78079, active
Quality program
Early Achievers Level 4

Nearby

All in ZIP 98126

Run Neighborhood House Burien? Correct or add anything here, free.

Add what is missing
Sources and dates

Where every fact on this page came from, and when Shortlist last checked it against that source. Anything Shortlist could not source is named here rather than left blank.

State record

From Washington DCYF’s published reports, last checked October 10, 2026.

Details

Medium means the middle half of Seattle-area’s 859 licensed centers by state-licensed capacity: 41 to 114 children. Small is 6 to 40; large is 115 to 323.

The ages on the license are what the state licenses it to care for, which can be wider than the ages it takes.

Nearby

The other centers’ visit lines are from Washington DCYF’s published reports as Shortlist read them on October 10, 2026.