Sunnyvale · Licensed family home

Zhidong Yu Family Child Care

What the state has found

The state cited rules at 1 of its 7 licensing inspections since February 2022.

Fewer than 20 Bay Area family homes have had 7 licensing inspections, so there is no comparison yet.

Licensing inspections

Sep 9, 2026No rules cited
Jul 2, 2025No rules cited
Jun 26, 2025No rules cited
Nov 1, 20242 citations
  • “Criminal Record Clearance - (d) All individuals subject to a criminal record review pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1596.871 shall prior to working, residing, or volunteering in a licensed facility: (1) Obtain a California clearance or a criminal record exemption as required by the Department. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Licensee's adult assistant (S1) is working in the home without fingerprint clearances. This poses an immediate risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care. A civil penalty of $100 was assessed.”

    CCR 102370(d)(1)

  • “Reporting Requirements - (b) The licensee shall report to the Department any of the events as specified in Health and Safety Code Sections 1597.467(b)(1)(A) through (b)(1)(C) that occur during the operation of the family child care home. (1) Medical treatment means treatment by a medical professional, as defined in Section 101152(m). This requirement is not met as evidenced by: LPAs learned from interviews that an incident involving a child (C1) who required immediate medical attention was not reported to Licensing. This poses a potential risk to the health, safety and personal rights to children in care.”

    CCR 102416.2(b)

Mar 4, 2024No rules cited
Jan 23, 2023No rules cited
Feb 17, 2022No rules cited
Read every record and the state’s reports

State record — California CDSS Community Care Licensing

Last visit
September 9, 2026
On file
7 visits since February 2022 — 6 cited nothing · 3 complaint investigations
Most serious
Type A — Staffing Ratio and Capacity - For a Large Family Child Care Home, the maximum number of children for whom care may be provided at any one time when there is an assistant provider in the home, including children under age 10 who reside at the licensee's home and the assistant provider's children under age 10, shall be (1) Twelve children, no more than four of whom may be infants. This requirement was not met as evidenced by: Based on LPAs observations and interviews, the facility was out of ratio on 11/01/24 for having 2 adults present in the home with 14 children (4 infants and 10 preschool age). This poses an immediate risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care. · January 6, 2025

California CDSS publishes the full investigation narrative for a complaint, including its disposition, and classifies a citation Type A — an immediate risk to a child — or Type B.

Sep 2026 Licensing visit nothing cited
Jul 2025 Licensing visit nothing cited
Jun 2025 Licensing visit nothing cited
Nov 2024 Complaint Substantiated

Complaint · November 22, 2024

Substantiated · HSC 1596.8595(c)(1) · Type B

§1596.8595(c)(1):A licensed child day care facility shall provide to the parents or guardians of each child receiving services in the facility copies of any licensing report that documents any Type A citation that represents an immediate risk to the health, safety,or personal rights of children in care This requirement was not met by evidence by: Licensee failed to give copies of the Licensing Reports with TYPE A citations, and failed to notify parents/ guardians of one TYPE A citation pertaining to Criminal Record Clearance that were issued by CCL on 11/1/24, which poses a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.

State report

Nov 2024 Licensing visit 2 findings

Licensing visit · November 1, 2024

CCR 102370(d)(1) · Type A

Criminal Record Clearance - (d) All individuals subject to a criminal record review pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 1596.871 shall prior to working, residing, or volunteering in a licensed facility: (1) Obtain a California clearance or a criminal record exemption as required by the Department. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Licensee's adult assistant (S1) is working in the home without fingerprint clearances. This poses an immediate risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care. A civil penalty of $100 was assessed.

CCR 102416.2(b) · Type B

Reporting Requirements - (b) The licensee shall report to the Department any of the events as specified in Health and Safety Code Sections 1597.467(b)(1)(A) through (b)(1)(C) that occur during the operation of the family child care home. (1) Medical treatment means treatment by a medical professional, as defined in Section 101152(m). This requirement is not met as evidenced by: LPAs learned from interviews that an incident involving a child (C1) who required immediate medical attention was not reported to Licensing. This poses a potential risk to the health, safety and personal rights to children in care.

State report

Oct 2024 Complaint 3 of 8 allegations substantiated

Complaint · October 25, 2024

California decided each allegation separately.

Substantiated

  • Children are cared for in an off limit area of the home
  • Licensee is operating over capacity
  • Licensee is operating out of ratio

Unsubstantiated

  • Licensee caused injury to child in care
  • Licensee spanks children as a form of discipline
  • Licensee does not ensure children are adequately fed
  • Licensee force fed children
  • Licensee does not spend a sufficient amount of time in the childcare

Substantiated: the state found it more likely than not that it happened. Unsubstantiated: the state could not tell whether it happened.

Substantiated · CCR 102416.3(a)(6) · Type B

Alterations to Buildings or Grounds - (a) Prior to making alterations or additions to a family child care home or grounds, the licensee shall notify the Department of the proposed changed, including, but not limited to, the following.....6) Any change from an area of the family child care home previously identified as "off limits" to an area where care and supervision will be provided to children in care. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on LPAs observations and interviews, Licensee is using an off limit bedroom as nap room for infants without prior approval from Licensing. This poses a potential risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care.

Substantiated · CCR 102416.5(d)(1)&(2) · Type A

Staffing Ratio and Capacity - For a Large Family Child Care Home, the maximum number of children for whom care may be provided at any one time when there is an assistant provider in the home, including children under age 10 who reside at the licensee's home and the assistant provider's children under age 10, shall be either: (1) Twelve children, no more than four of whom may be infants. This requirement is not met as evidenced by: Based on LPAs observations and interviews, licensee is operating over capacity by having 14 children (4 infants & 10 preschool age) present in the home with an assistant. This poses an immediate risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care.

CCR 102416.5(d)(1) · Type A

Staffing Ratio and Capacity - For a Large Family Child Care Home, the maximum number of children for whom care may be provided at any one time when there is an assistant provider in the home, including children under age 10 who reside at the licensee's home and the assistant provider's children under age 10, shall be (1) Twelve children, no more than four of whom may be infants. This requirement was not met as evidenced by: Based on LPAs observations and interviews, the facility was out of ratio on 11/01/24 for having 2 adults present in the home with 14 children (4 infants and 10 preschool age). This poses an immediate risk to the health, safety, and personal rights to children in care.

State report, November 1, 2024

State report, January 6, 2025

Mar 2024 Licensing visit nothing cited
Jan 2023 Licensing visit nothing cited
Feb 2022 Licensing visit nothing cited

Shortlist replaces people’s names in the state’s text with initials. This is done by rule, not by hand, so it can miss a name or shorten a word that isn’t one. The state’s report, linked on each row, has the original.

Openings, child care subsidies, cost, hours and late pickup, teaching approach, ratios and staff, a typical day, and sick and biting policies aren’t on this page.

Details

(408) 505-9859

Area
Sunnyvale, 94089
License
434411007, active

Run Zhidong Yu Family Child Care? Correct or add anything here, free.

Add what is missing
Sources and dates

Where every fact on this page came from, and when Shortlist last checked it against that source. Anything Shortlist could not source is named here rather than left blank.

All checked July 2026.

State record

The state’s licensing transparency data reports 5 complaint-related visit(s) to this facility, while 3 complaint investigation report(s) are published on the transparency portal. State complaint counts: substantiated=4, inconclusive=0, unsubstantiated=5, unfounded=CONFIDENTIAL, Type A citations=2, Type B citations=2. The state publishes no further detail for the difference.

From California CDSS Community Care Licensing’s published reports, last checked October 10, 2026.

Details

Full-size means licensed for 14 children, the most any Bay Area family home holds; 442 of Bay Area’s 466 licensed family homes are. Small is 10 to 13.